Natural Areas

Director: Stephen Richter

The Division of Natural Areas at Eastern Kentucky University protects and manages three natural areas: Lilley Cornett Woods, Maywoods Environmental and Educational Laboratory, and Taylor Fork Ecological Area. The Division facilitates and promotes field research (including biological inventories, biological, and environmental monitoring) in the University natural areas and across the region, and provides professional expertise on natural resources and environmental issues.

The Division promotes environmental education through teacher professional development and outreach services to formal and non-formal education audiences. It also makes the natural areas available as outdoor facilities to University groups, school groups, and the general public for environmental research and education.


Browse the Natural Areas Collections:

Natural Areas Publications

Natural Areas Research Data

Natural Areas Student Theses