Department Chair: Dana Howell PhD, OTD, OTR/L, FAOTA

EKU's Occupational Science and Occupational Therapy Department has been named #31 by US News & World Report for best Master's Occupational Therapy Programs for 2012. OT faculty are a dedicated, personable group of people who are united toward a common goal: student's quality, individualized education. When taking OS and OT classes at EKU, instruction will not be given by teaching assistants, but from faculty members who are experts in their fields. OT courses emphasize hands-on learning as well as models of instruction that teach students not only how to be successful occupational scientists and therapists, but also how to recognize and adjust to the changing medical environment of the 21st century.

The faculty have presented nationally and internationally and have received important state and national awards, including the prestigious Fellow of the American Occupational Therapy Association. The students are involved in both the social life and decision-making of the Department through the Student Occupational Science Association and the Student Occupational Therapy Association.

Dates of Existence

Historical Names

  • Department of Occupational Therapy (1976-2014)


Browse the Occupational Science and Occupational Therapy Collections:

Occupational Science and Occupational Therapy Faculty and Staff Research

Occupational Therapy Doctorate Capstone Projects

Occupational Therapy Theses and Dissertations